

I'm back in Germany for the time being after travelling across a couple of borders into Italy last week. Needless to say, Cinque Terre is an absolutely stunning location on this rock we call Earth. We got in in the early afternoon on a Saturday, to find that a lot of other people had the same idea to visit these 'quaint' villages. Thanks, Rick Steves. We had an apartment that a little old man and his wife rented out and he was an interesting character to say the least. With his English speaking being sub-par, and our Italian coming from a Olive Garden menu, the conversation took about an hour. Finally, it was time to explore our temporary home.
It was muggy and hot. I'm talking about Mississippi in August muggy and hot. It was a good thing we were on the water so we could jump in whenever we liked. So that's what we did. We explored our village of Riomaggiore, which I think is the most picturesque of the five villages (although most guidebooks will tell you it's Vernazza, which was three villages over). Maybe I'm just biased since we spent most of our time there. Hell, after our third day, I was giving info to confused looking tourists who were speaking English. Telling them about wi-fi hotspots, recommending restaurants, how to get to the trails which lead between the villages. If I had a better tan, and I don't know, spoke Italian, I could've been mistaken for a local, since we started feeling that way.
These five villages, hence the name, Cinque Terre, are all built into the hillsides on severe slopes. I'm guessing that if you weren't hawking souvenirs or running a restaurant, these people were primarily farmers. It's quite amazing how they do it, terracing their crops up the hillsides. It really is a marvel to see (or get lost in hiking, like I did, but more on that later). They produce some wonderful wines as well as a sweet dessert liqueur called Limoncino. Some of you may have heard of Limoncello, a close kin to this drink. If you like Lemonheads while you drink Vodka, just pick up a bottle of this stuff and cut out the middleman. There are two trails between all of the five villages, a low trail and a high one. Or, the red and the blue, according to the tourist office. Most people take the low trail, which is paved for a lot of it, but can be pretty brutal in some spots. You could probably hike from one end to the other in about 6 hours, going at a good pace, and if you haven't had too much foccacia to slow you down. Now the high trail is an entirely different beast, especially with 90+ heat and something like 90% humidity. So what the hell. I like a good challenge, I thought. I found out quickly why I was the only one up there that day. It goes straight up the hillside to start, weaving you through people's gardens and past a small, what I'll call a creek. By the time I reached a road at what I thought was the top, I realized that I did not bring enough water for this hike. I could have brought a mule to carry water for me and I don't think it would have been enough. I did however get some gorgeous views from up there. Something most of the tourists who come here don't get to see. I walked on to get to the next village and again, the trail just continued up. Now, it's not well marked, this high trail, and therefore I ended up doing some turnarounds and eventually made friends with a mountain goat who was feeding on some grape leaves. I don't think he was use to visitors, but in this heat, I'm pretty sure that we had a pretty good conversation. Again with the lack of water. I got some amazing vistas of the next two villages, snapped some photos, and decided it was time to head back. I got a little lost, but I found an extremely steep set of "stairs" to lead me back to my village. As I was walking down, I just kept thinking about the labor that was put into making a trail like this one, and I was in complete awe. My shirt may have been soaked through, but compared to what these people went through to put them there, I was in pretty good shape, and it kept me going. That was the last time on the high trail. Like I said, there were no mules to help on future hikes, and I wasn't close enough with the mountain goat to ask him for that kind of favor to help me carry my water.
For the first couple of evenings, the World Cup's final two games were on and so we decided to head up to a bar to watch them, since our apartment didn't have a TV. Since Germany was in the first game, and the Netherlands were in the finals (we just got back from Amsterdam, so for some strange reason, I felt like I was rooting for my home team) we had to watch. It wasn't a bad place to be, overlooking the Mediterranean at sunset time, enjoying a cold beer, and watching some football. Plus, I got to meet some cool people to watch the final game with. One from Canada (Edmonton Erin), and a guy I called Kansas, since I couldn't remember his name. This trip was shaping up to be a great one.
The second day we were there, we went down to the marina and rented some kayaks to get to some more remote beaches. The guy renting them out was very friendly and told us about a waterfall that was about two miles away, but we decided to head the other direction towards the next town. We found a beach, got out of the kayaks and enjoyed a swim. Note, to readers, the Mediterranean is super salty. I'm talking Salt Lake salty. So remember to take your Chapstick out of your swim trunks before entering the water. Otherwise, the next time you apply it, your lips feel like the rim of a margarita glass. We had a great time, and we knew we were going to have to go again. So we did the last full day we were there. My brother wasn't feeling up to it, so his wife and I decided to go. This time, we were going to check out the waterfall. About one hour into our little paddle, we both agreed that this 'waterfall' was a snipe hunt. Something to tell tourists to go check out to give the locals a chuckle. Very funny, my Italian friend. At least I was able to see a topless woman on a boat at the rocky beach that we stopped at to grab a snack we brought along. Waterfall, schmatterfall, I say.
Kansas was telling me about a little tradition that some tourists do which is to bring a bottle of wine down on the rocks at the marina and watch the sunset. I thought that sounded like a good idea, so I invited Edmonton Erin to join me down there one night, to allow my brother and his wife some alone time in what is, a very romantic place to be. When I showed up, she had brought two Australian girls that she had met with her. Sounds good to me. These girls were very cool. They liked to travel, have good conversations (why the hell isn't the U.S. on the metric system, one I still can't answer), and have a good time. We all sat on the rocks, got to know each other, and enjoyed some good, local wine. My brother and his wife met us down there and we all conversed until the sun was a memory. The Aussies, Canadian, and myself ended up walking back into town to grab a drink and hey, hey. A reggae band was playing to a crowd of about 100. We caught their last few songs and then proceeded to get that drink. These girls liked to party. I think that's why we all got along so well. So well, that I ended up forgetting the corkscrew and glasses that I had taken from our apartment earlier. I ended up replacing the corkscrew for our 'landlord', which didn't work worth a crap, by the way. All in all, it was probably the most fun evening that I had in Cinque Terre. Meeting good people is the main reason that I like to travel in the first place. Sure, the sights are cool, but they're just blips in your brain of a place you saw once. The people you meet are what make the memories of somewhere you've been.
We did visit all the villages of the Cinque Terre, and even Levanto, on the north end. Levanto was a cool town, with horrible food, but they did have an India Pale Ale on the beach, so I had to try it. Not bad, for Italian beer. After six days, it was time to go. Since the weather report showed thunderstorms for our next destination, we called an audible, and headed for greener pastures in Brenner. We stayed in a small town hotel and got to actually do some hiking in the Italian Alps. It was amazing. We did take a chairlift up most of the way and then hiked up to the top of a ridge, which offered some wonderful panoramic views. This will sound completely cliche, but something I will always remember were the cows. The bells clanging away as they chomped their meals was something I had never heard before. I guess they're probably harder to hear in a large scale feed lot back in the States. I guess the views were pretty neat, too. But the cows! Overall, the Italian Alps were great and somewhere I will probably head back to to do some more extensive hikes and hopefully reach some peaks. These Alps weren't overrun with tourists, which is kind of how I'm trying to experience things while I'm here. Sure, I like the hotspots of Europe, but sometimes, to get away and experience things that most people don't see, can make a trip unforgettable.
All in all, this was a great trip. Saw some places I'll never forget, made new friends, and just relaxed. I hope this trend continues for the rest of my time in Europe. See some cool shit, meet new people, and just enjoy life. Like they say, life is not about the destination, but the journey. One last thing, I want to thank my brother, Nate, and his wife, Dawn, for allowing my to make these memories together, and for bringing me along. I definitely couldn't have done this last week without them.


